What is the difference?
Net Revenue Retention Rate vs Net MRR Churn Rate
What is it?
Net Revenue Retention (NRR) Rate is the percentage of recurring revenue retained from existing customers in a defined time period, including expansion revenue, downgrades, and cancels. This churn metric gives a comprehensive view of positive as well as negative changes with respect to customer retention.
Net Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR) Churn Rate is the percentage change in MRR due to expansions, cancellations and downgrades. A negative Net MRR Churn Rate occurs when expansions exceed downgrades and cancellations and is a strong positive indicator of company health. This metric is typically expressed as a monthly rate although it can also be an annual rate: Net Annual Recurring Revenue (ARR) Churn Rate.
Who is it for?
Example A: A company has 100 customers, each paying $2,000 per month. MRR at the beginning of the month is $200,000. Within the month, 1 customer adds a $4,000 MRR upgrade, 2 downgrade by $500 each, and 1 customer cancels. NRR = = ($200,000 + $4,000 - ($500 x 2) - $2,000) / $200,000 = $201,000 / $200,000 = 100.5% expressed monthly Example B: A company has 100 customers paying $20,000 for annual subscriptions. Within a one month period, 10 customers are due for renewal, only 9 actually renew, 1 adds a $5000 ARR upgrade, and 2 downgrade their subscription by $2000 each. NRR = ($20,000 x 9) + $5,000 - ($2,000 x 2)) / ($2,000 MRR x 10) = $19,000 / $20,000 = 95.0% expressed monthly
Example A: A company’s MRR is $50,000 with expansions of $7,000 and downgrades and cancellations of $10,000. The Net MRR Churn Rate is ($10,000 - $7,000) / $50,000 = 6.0% Example B: A company’s MRR is $100,000 with expansions of $12,000 and downgrades and cancellations of $7,000. The Net MRR Churn Rate is ($12,000 - $7,000) / $100,000 = -5.0%
Published and updated dates
Date created: Apr 28, 2018
Latest update: Oct 15, 2021
Date created: Mar 22, 2018
Latest update: Jun 10, 2021