What is the difference?
ACV vs ARR
What is it?
Annual Contract Value is the dollar amount an average customer contract is worth to your company in one year. There tends to be less universal consensus on the definition of ACV compared to some other SaaS metrics, such as Annual Recurring Revenue. For example, some companies include one-time initial charges like setup or training in their ACV calculations, while others don’t.
Annual Recurring Revenue (ARR) is the sum of all subscription revenue expressed as an annual value. For most companies, ARR is the sum of all new business subscriptions and upgrades (sometimes called expansion), minus downgrades (or contractions) and cancelled subscriptions. Though not a Generally Accepted Accounting Principle (GAAP) value, it's the Revenue equivalent used by every SaaS company. ARR is used interchangeably with Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR).
Who is it for?
You have 100 customers. 30 signed a 3-year contract with a contract value of $90,000, equivalent to $30,000 / year. 30 signed a 2-year contract with a contract value of $80,000, equivalent to $40,000 / year. 40 signed a 1-year contract with a contract value of $50,000, equivalent to $50,000 / year Annual Contract Value = ( (30,000 x 30) + (40,000 x 30) + (50,000 x 40) ) / 100 customers ACV = $41,000
If a customer subscribes to a service with a 1-year renewal agreement for $12,000, then Annual Recurring Revenue would be; ARR = $12,000 If a customer subscribes to a service for $10,000 (with no contract), then Annual Recurring Revenue would be; ARR = $0 If a customer subscribes to a service with a monthly renewal agreement for $1,000 per month, then Annual Recurring Revenue would be; ARR = $1,000 * 12 = $12,000
Track this metric
Annual Contract Value (Custom data source)
Annual Recurring Revenue (Custom data source)
Published and updated dates
Date created: May 20, 2020
Latest update: Apr 9, 2021
Date created: Apr 28, 2018
Latest update: May 20, 2020