What is Average Revenue Per User?Average Revenue Per User (ARPU) is a company’s generated revenue that is averaged across all users and reported as a monthly or yearly value. ARPU is a top-level metric, that can easily be normalized and is often cited as a comparative measure between similar companies.
How to calculate Average Revenue Per User
ƒ Sum(Revenue) / Count(Users)
Level of complexity
Date created: Apr 28, 2018
Latest update: Apr 14, 2019
Tell me more about this metric
Note that ARPU describes the average revenue for all users - paying or not. This is particularly relevant to companies with a freemium model. Whereas, Average Revenue Per Paying User only includes paying users.
When combined with Costs to Acquire a User or expressed as Margin Per User, ARPU paints a clear picture of the unit economics and the viability of a business or product line.
This metric is used as an indication of revenue generation capability and the ability to meet targets. It is an indicator for margin growth.
The ARPU trend over time gives a perspective on how the business is either improving or worsening. Most industries are looking for an increase in the ARPU over time. Changes in ARPU can be a reflection of changes in prices, expansion or contraction within accounts, or even changes in initial purchases.
Comparing ARPU trends for different segments of accounts may also provide useful insights.
Consider a SaaS company has 1000 customers with 1300 accounts (a customer can have more than one account) and is generating $200,000 in revenue per month, Average Revenue per User would be;
ARPU = $100,000 / 1,000 = $100 per user (monthly)